Tickets!

My schedule

Please enter your ticket ID to register for an event.

OK
0

My schedule

Export to calendar Create your own personal schedule.
Just click on the next to the events you plan to attend.

Challenge the way you perceive the world

Challenge the way you perceive the world

Computer scientists and entrepreneurs working with artificial intelligence reveal how they adapt visual perception to enable robots and intelligent systems to see and interpret the environment.

Much of how we perceive our daily lives stems from the visual input we receive ­ paintings, photographs, and videos reveal how we think, feel and perceive light. Creating sensors for robots, intelligent machines, and augmented reality, researchers enable machines to perceive information related to the task­at­hand, without having to produce visual images. Tasks such as search and rescue, industrial inspection, crop monitoring or archeological surveying require an unconventional approach that delivers visual information in differing formats. Speakers will reveal how sensory perception allows robotic devices to operate at high speeds and with a fraction of the power consumption of a conventional camera. They will also demonstrate multiple scene perception algorithms based in Computer Vision techniques and their applications.

As a participant, you will have the opportunity to challenge your own perception with interactive visual illusions and convince yourself that what your brain perceives is not what your eyes see.

Moderation: Susan Kish, CEO Andesa

Event language: English

Wann 14.09.2018
Zeit 14:00 - 17:00
Wo Schiffbau

Programm

  • 14.00-14.10

    Welcome and Introduction (Susan Kish)

  • 14.10-14.25

    Teaching robots to see
 (Margarita Chli, Vision for robotics lab, ETH Zürich)

  • 14.25-14.40

    Spatial Computing: Towards a Co-Processor to the Human Brain (Alexander Ilic, Magicleap/Dacuda)

  • 14.40-14.55

    Interview with Markus Gross, Computer Graphics Laboratory, ETH Zurich and Disney Research Zurich

  • 14.55-15.15

    Conversation with Margarita Chli, Alexander Ilic and Markus Gross

  • 15.15-15.45

    Break, Demos

  • 15.45-16.05

    Machine Perception for VR
 (Alexander Sorkine-Hornung, Oculus)

  • 16.05-16.25

    Creating visual technologies in-silico inspired by what is found in-vivo
 (Yulia Sandamirskaya and Julien Martel, Institute of Neuroinformatics ETH Zürich and University of Zurich)

  • 16.25-16.45

    Applications and recent advances of deep learning for robot applications
 (Isaac Deutsch and Daniel Hoeller, Nvidia)

  • 16.45-16.55

    Talk (tbd)
 (Marc Pollefeys, Computer Vision and Geometry Group, ETH Zürich)

  • 16.55-17.00

    Q&A and Closing

  • 17.00

    Networking Reception

Speakers

Prof. Margarita Chli

Computer Vision for Robotics at ETH Zurich

Margarita Chli is a Professor at ETH Zurich leading the Vision for Robotics Lab at ETH Zurich. Originally from Greece and Cyprus, she studied Information & Computing Engineering at the University of Cambridge and has conducted her PhD at Imperial College London, UK. Margarita’s interests lie in Computer Vision for Robotics and her work contributed to the first vision­based autonomous flight of a small helicopter. In 2016, she featured in Robohub’s list of 25 women in Robotics you need to know aboutand in 2017, she received the biannual Zonta prize on the basis of her high impact contributions to the development of robotic vision and was a speaker at the World Economic Forum in Davos.

Isaac Deutsch & David Hoeller

Nvidia

Isaac and David both work in deep learning and robotics at NVIDIA Zurich. It was similar interests but different paths that eventually brought them there:

Isaac was born in Bern. He went to study Mechanical Engineering at ETH Zurich, before then focusing on robotics. For the Bachelor and Master theses, Isaac stayed in Hong Kong and Los Angeles, respectively. Both theses discussed Simultaneous Localization And Mapping (SLAM); The former in the context of multi-robot collaboration, the latter in the context of active exploration. Isaac joined Zurich-based startup Nomoko as one of the first employees, working on 3D reconstruction from very high-resolution images, before coming to NVIDIA. There, he started collaborating with David Weikersdorfer on robotics.

David was born in Paris. Like Isaac, he studied Mechanical Engineering at ETH Zurich where he focused mainly on Robotics, Systems and Control. As part of his studies, he developed algorithms for satellite guidance and navigation at Airbus. In 2017, he started a PhD at the Robotics Systems Lab at ETH Zurich in conjunction with NVIDIA. He develops deep reinforcement learning algorithms to teach the lab’s quadrupedal robot ANYmal to move around and navigate in complex environments. These learning algorithms greatly benefit from the large computational infrastructure at NVIDIA.

Alexander Sorkine­-Hornung

Research Scientist & Technical Lead for Mixed Reality at Oculus Zurich

Alexander is Research Scientist and Technical Lead for Mixed Reality at Oculus Zurich. With the teams in Zurich, he focuses on developing core technologies that bridge the boundaries between the Real and Virtual World, ranging from 3D computer vision and machine learning to high-performance graphics and experience design. Before his time at Oculus, Alexander headed the Imaging and Video group at Disney Research. The research and technologies developed by his group have significantly impacted Disney park attractions and movie productions such as Soarin’ over California and Soarin’ around the World, Pirates of the Caribbean, Maleficent, Cinderella, Big Hero 6, and various others. Alexander obtained his Ph.D. in Computer Science at RWTH Aachen in 2008, and spent one year as a postdoctoral researcher at the Computer Graphics Laboratory at ETH Zurich. In 2012 Alexander received the Eurographics Young Researcher Award.
ahornung.net

Dr. Alexander Ilic

Head of Magicleap and Founder of Dacuda

Alexander Ilic is the head of Magic Leap Switzerland and an experienced high-tech entrepreneur. He co-founded the ETH Spin-off Dacuda (acquired by Magic Leap in 2017) and served as Assistant Professor at University of St.Gallen. In 2011, he won the Swiss Economic Award and was named «Entrepreneur of the Year» in 2012 by E&Y.

Julien Martel

Institute of Neuroinformatics, Cortical Computation Group

Julien is a Ph.D. candidate at the Institute of Neuroinformatics. His research interests lie in artificial vision with the aim to give machines the ability to see, and understand what they see. Julien is interested in the design of algorithms and systems with novel, unconventional vision sensors. In particular, he has devoted his efforts to create algorithms for sensors that embed intelligent circuits in each pixel and is collaborating with chip designers to drive the design of the next generation of intelligent vision chips.

Marc Pollefeys

Computer Vision and Geometry Group ETH Zürich

Marc Pollefeys is a Professor of Computer Science at ETH Zurich and Director of Science at Microsoft working on HoloLens and Mixed Reality.  He is best known for his work in 3D computer vision, having been the first to develop a software pipeline to automatically turn photographs into 3D models, but also works on robotics, graphics and machine learning problems.  Other noteworthy projects he worked on with collaborators at UNC Chapel Hill and ETH Zurich are real-time 3D scanning with mobile devices, a real-time pipeline for 3D reconstruction of cities from vehicle mounted-cameras, camera-based self-driving cars and the first fully autonomous vision-based drone.  Most recently his academic research has focused on combining 3D reconstruction with semantic scene understanding.  He received a Master of Science in electrical engineering and a PhD in computer vision from the KU Leuven in Belgium in 1994 and 1999 respectively.  He became an assistant professor at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill in 2002 and joined ETH Zurich as a full professor in 2007. 

Prof. Markus Gross

Institute for Visual Computing at ETH Zurich and Director of Disney Research Zurich

Markus Gross is a Professor of Computer Science at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH), head of the Computer Graphics Laboratory, Vice President Global Research and Development and the director of Disney Research. He joined the ETH Computer Science faculty in 1994. His research interests include physically based modeling, computer animation, immersive displays, and video technology. Before joining Disney, Gross was director of the Institute of Computational Sciences at ETH. He received a master of science in electrical and computer engineering and a PhD in computer graphics and image analysis, both from Saarland University in Germany in 1986 and 1989. In 2013 he received a Technical Achievement Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Konrad Zuse Medal of GI and the Karl Heinz Beckurts price.

Yulia Sandamirskaya

Institute for Neuroinformatics at ETH Zurich and University of Zurich

Yulia Sandamirskaya is leading the group "Neuromorphic Cognitive
Robots'' that builds biologically inspired computing architectures for robots
using spiking and continuous neuronal dynamics. She is interested in
long­term memory formation, sequence learning, sensorimotor maps
learning, spatial cognition, and navigation, and aims at realising related
neuronal architectures in mixed signal analog/digital neuromorphic chips.
She builds neuronal architectures that can perceive, learn, and act
autonomously in a closed sensor­motor loop, inspired by biological
cognition.

Tickets!

Mein Zeitplan

Um dich bei Events anzumelden, gib bitte deine Ticket ID ein.

OK
0

Mein Zeitplan

Export in Kalender Stelle dir deinen persönlichen Zeitplan zusammen.
Klicke dazu einfach auf das neben den Events deiner Wahl.

Herausfordern, wie wir die Welt wahrnehmen

Herausfordern, wie wir die Welt wahrnehmen

Wissenschaft und Unternehmen, die sich mit künstlicher Intelligenz auseinandersetzen zeigen auf, wie optische Wahrnehmung modifiziert werden muss, damit unserer Umwelt für Roboter und intelligente Systeme wahrnehm­ und interpretierbar wird.

Die Wahrnehmung des Alltags ist stark von visuellen Reizen geprägt. Bilder, Fotografien und Videos zeigen wie wir denken, fühlen und Licht wahrnehmen. Roboter, Intelligente Systeme und Erweiterte Realitäten sehen jedoch durch Sensoren, die Informationen in Bezug zu einer konkreten Aufgabe stellen ohne dabei visuelle Informationen zu erzeugen. Lösungen für Such­ und Rettungsdienste, industrielle Inspektion, Ernteüberwachung und Archäologie erfordern unkonventionelle Lösungen, die visuelle Informationen in unterschiedlichen Formaten ausgeben. Führende Expertinnen und Experten zeigen auf, wie die sensorische Wahrnehmung automatisierten Systemen ermöglicht, mit Höchstgeschwindigkeit und mit einem Bruchteil des Energieverbrauchs einer konventionellen Kamera zu arbeiten. Es werden auf Computer Vision Techniken basierende Multiple Scene Perception Algorithmen vorgestellt und deren Anwendungsbeispiele demonstriert.

Als Teilnehmer haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Ihre eigene Wahrnehmung mit interaktiven visuellen Illusionen herauszufordern und festzustellen, dass ihre Augen nicht einfach das sehen, was ihr Gehirn wahrnimmt.

Moderation: Susan Kish, CEO Andesa

Eventsprache: Englisch

Wann 14.09.2018
Zeit 14:00 - 17:00
Wo Schiffbau

Programm

  • 14.00-14.10

    Begrüssung und Einführung (Susan Kish)

  • 14.10-14.25

    Teaching robots to see
 (Margarita Chli, Vision for robotics lab, ETH Zürich)

  • 14.25-14.40

    Spatial Computing: Towards a Co-Processor to the Human Brain (Alexander Ilic, Magic Leap)

  • 14.40-14.55

    Interview mit Markus Gross, Computer Graphics Laboratory, ETH Zürich und Disney Research Zürich

  • 14.55-15.15

    Gespräch mit Margarita Chli, Alexander Ilic und Markus Gross

  • 15.15-15.45

    Pause, Demos

  • 15.45-16.05

    Machine Perception for VR
 (Alexander Sorkine-Hornung, Oculus)

  • 16.05-16.25

    Creating visual technologies in-silico inspired by what is found in-vivo
 (Yulia Sandamirskaya und Julien Martel, Institute of Neuroinformatics ETH Zürich und Universität Zürich)

  • 16.25-16.45

    Applications and recent advances of deep learning for robot applications
 (Isaac Deutsch und Daniel Hoeller, Nvidia)

  • 16.45-16.55

    Computer Vision for Mixed Reality by Marc Pollefeys, Computer Vision and Geometry Group, ETH Zürich

  • 16.55-17.00

    Q&A und Verabschiedung

  • 17.00

    Austausch und Apéro

Speakers

Prof. Margarita Chli

Computer Vision für Robotics ETH Zürich

Margarita Chli is Professorin an der ETH Zürich und leitet das “Vision for Robotics Lab”. Sie stammt ursprünglich aus Griechenland und Zypern, studierte Informatik an der Universität in Cambridge und schloss ihr Doktorandenstudium am Imperial College in London ab. Margarita interessiert sich für Computer Vision im Bereich Robotik. Ihre Forschungsarbeit hat massgeblich zum ersten vision­basierten, autonomen Flug eines kleinen Helikopters beigetragen. Im Jahr 2016 war sie auf der Robohub Liste der 25 führenden Frauen in Robotik und gewann 2017 den renommierten Zonta Preis.

www.v4rl.etzh.ch

Isaac Deutsch & David Hoeller

Deep Learning & Robotics, Nvidia

Isaac und David arbeiten beide bei NVIDIA Zürich auf den Gebieten von Deep Learning und Robotik. Es waren ähnliche Interessen, aber andere Lebenswege, die sie dorthin geführt haben:

Isaac wurde in Bern geboren. Er studierte Maschinenbau an der ETH Zürich, bevor er sich auf Robotik konzentrierte. Für die Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten lebte Isaac jeweils in Hong Kong und Los Angeles. Bei beiden Arbeiten ging es um "Simultaneous Localization And Mapping" ("SLAM"), also darum, dass sich ein Roboter in einer unbekannten Umgebung zurechtfindet. Die Bachelorarbeit thematisierte SLAM im Kontext von Kollaboration zwischen mehreren Robotern, die Masterarbeit im Kontext von aktivem Erkunden. Isaac trat dem Zürcher Startup Nomoko als einer der ersten Mitarbeiter bei, um an 3D-Rekonstruktionen, basierend auf sehr hochaufgelösten Bildern, mitzuwirken, bevor er zu NVIDIA wechselte. Dort arbeitet er jetzt u.A. mit David Weikersdorfer an einem Robotik-Projekt.

David wurde in Paris geboren. Wie Isaac studierte er Maschinenbau an der ETH Zürich, wo sein Hauptfokus auf Robotik und Regelungstechnik lag. Als Teil seines Studiums entwickelte er Algorithmen zur Satellitensteuerung und -Navigation beim Unternehmen Airbus. 2017 begann er ein Doktorat im "Robotics Systems Lab" an der ETH Zürich in Zusammenarbeit mit NVIDIA. David entwickelt Deep-Reinforcement-Learning-Algorithmen, welche dem vierfüssigen "ANYmal"-Roboter des Labors erlauben, sich fortzubewegen und auch in komplexen Geländen zu navigieren. Diese Learning-Algorithmen können sehr von der grossen Rechenzentrums-Infrastruktur von NVIDIA profitieren.

Alexander Sorkine­-Hornung

Research Scientist & Technical Lead für Mixed Reality bei Oculus Zürich

Alexander ist Forscher und Technischer Leiter der Mixed Reality Group von Oculus Zürich. Mit seinem Team konzentriert sich Alexander in Zürich auf die Entwicklung von Technologien zur Überbrückung der Grenzen zwischen der realen und virtuellen Welt wie z.B. 3D-Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Hochleistungsgrafik und Experience Design. Vor seiner Zeit bei Oculus leitete Alexander die Imaging and Video Group bei Disney Research, deren Forschung und Technologien Attraktionen im Disney Park, sowie zahlreiche Filmproduktionen wie Soarin' over California und Soarin' around the World, Pirates of the Caribbean, Maleficent, Cinderella, Big Hero 6 und etc. massgeblich beeinflussten. Alexander promovierte 2008 in Informatik an der RWTH Aachen und war ein Jahr als Postdoc am Computergrafik-Labor der ETH Zürich tätig. Im Jahr 2012 erhielt Alexander den Eurographics Young Researcher Award. ahornung.net

Dr. Alexander Ilic

Head of Magic Leap and Founder of Dacuda

Alex Ilic ist Leiter von Magic Leap Schweiz und ein erfahrener high-tech Unternehmer. Er gründete das ETH Spin-off Dacuda, welches 2017 von Magic Leap akquiriert wurde. Gleichzeitig arbeitete er als Assistenzprofessor an der Universität St. Gallen. 2011 gewann er den Swiss Economic Award und wurde 2012 zum EY Unternehmer des Jahres gewählt.

Julien Martel

Institute of Neuroinformatics, Cortical Computation Group

Julien ist Doktorand am Institut für Neuroinformatik von der Universität und ETH Zürich. Seine Forschungsinteresse liegen in künstlichen optischen Systemen mit dem Ziel, Maschinen die Fähigkeit zu geben, zu sehen und zu verstehen was sie sehen. Julien interessiert sich für das Design von Algorithmen und Systemen mit neuen, unkonventionellen bildverarbeitenden Sensoren. Insbesondere vertieft er sich in die Entwicklung von der nächsten Generation von intelligenten, bildverarbeitenden Sensoren.

The Cortical Computation Group

Marc Pollefeys

Computer Vision and Geometry Group ETH Zürich

Marc Pollefeys ist Professor für Computer Science an der ETH Zürich und Wissenschaftlicher Direktor bei Microsoft mit Arbeitsschwerpunkt HoloLens und Mixed Reality. Er ist bekannt für seine Arbeit im Bereich 3D Computervision und war der erste, der eine Software entwickelt hat, die Fotografien in 3D Modelle umwandelt. Weitere Projekte in Zusammenarbeit mit UNC Chapel Hill und ETH Zurich sind 3D Echtzeit-Scanning mit mobilen Geräten, eine Echtzeit-Pipeline für 3D-Rekonstruktionen von Städten durch auf Fahrzeugen montierte Kameras, kamerabasierte selbststeuernde Autos und die erste komplett autonom fliegende Drone. Marc Pollefeys hat einen Master of Science in Elektrotechnik und einen Doktortitel in Computervision der KU Leuven in Belgien. 2002 wurde er zum Assistenzprofessor an die University of North Carolina und Chapel Hill berufen und ist seit 2007 ordentlicher Professor an der ETH Zürich.

Prof. Markus Gross

Institute for Visual Computing at ETH Zurich and Director of Disney Research Zürich

Markus Gross ist Professor für Informatik an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich (ETH), Leiter des Computer Graphics Laboratory, Vice President Globale Forschung und Entwicklung und Direktor von Disney Research. Im Jahr 1994 wurde er ans Departement für Informatik der ETH Zürich berufen. Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen physikalisch basierte Modellierung, Computeranimation, immersive Displays, und Videotechnik. Vor seiner Anstellung bei Disney war Gross Direktor des Instituts für Computational Sciences an der ETH. Er studierte Elektrotechnik und Informatik an der Universität des Saarlandes und promovierte dort in der Computergrafik und Bildanalyse 1986 und 1989. Gross sitzt im Vorstand zahlreicher internationaler Forschungseinrichtungen, Gesellschaften und Regierungsorganisationen. Im Jahr 2013 wurde er mit dem Technical Achievement Award der Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, der Konrad­Zuse­Medaille der Gesellschaft für Informatik und dem Karl Heinz Beckurts­Preis ausgezeichnet.

graphics.ethz.ch

Yulia Sandamirskaya

Institute for Neuroinformatics at ETH Zurich and University of Zurich

Yulia Sandamirskaya leitet die Gruppe “Neuromorphic Cognitive Robots”, die biologisch inspirierte Computerarchitekturen für Roboter mit neuronaler Dynamik entwickelt. Sie interessiert sich für Langzeitgedächtnisbildung, sensomotorisches Lernen und räumliche Wahrnehmung und Navigation. Sie baut neuronale Architekturen welche autonom erkennen, lernen und handeln können.

www.ini.uzh.ch